Saturday, August 8, 2009

Received e-mail from areainc.com?

i received an e-mail from sec.areainc.com which sounds fishy to me. i deleted it, and contacted network solutions. they said they only host the domain name, they don%26#039;t host the site and that i should contact gzinc to tell them. i decided not to contact gzinc since they sounded a lot like %26quot;areainc%26quot; and they might be gathering information. anyone else with this problem lately? i see problem from 6 months ago - why hasn%26#039;t anyone shut down this website?



Received e-mail from areainc.com?





No question about it, an unsolicited e-mail with a .zip attachment is almost always some sort of malware.



It%26#039;s probably being hosted (with a spoofed address) from some Eastern European country where the law is weak and the authorities are corrupt. Tough to shut anything down there.



Received e-mail from areainc.com?



Possibly because they either AREN%26#039;T phishing OR they%26#039;re just spamming. Just because something SOUNDS fishy doesn%26#039;t mean it is. Many times you can%26#039;t always tell a website by it%26#039;s domain name. If you didn%26#039;t sign up for their newsletter or any updates from them, it%26#039;s pretty safe to assume they bought an email list from some other site and that%26#039;s how they got your email adress. If it%26#039;s a job offer or a %26quot;someone died please claim their money%26quot; deal, then you KNOW it%26#039;s a scam and don%26#039;t reply.

No comments:

Post a Comment